Ellie and Bertie – 07.08.2016

Last Sunday I went to visit my friend Ellie and her new horse Bertie, and like always, brought my camera along. I’d met Bertie briefly at a local horse show a few weeks ago and just from that encounter was really looking forward to meeting him again.

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

 

Bertie is a 5 year old Connemara from Ireland and previously, has only been backed and hunted a few times. Ellie bought him as a project pony in order to further his education and eventually event him. When she first got him, she told me that her plan was to bring him on to be competing at BE events with the idea that once she had finished her degree in Veterinary Physiotherapy, she could then sell him in order to then use the money from his sale to set up her own business. However, this plan ended before it even began as Ellie now tells me that she couldn’t possibly sell Bertie now that she has got to know him and she intends to keep him for the foreseeable future.

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

Once we had started the photo shoot, it soon became clear that like many other young horses, Bertie was a little bit of a fidget and didn’t particularly like being separated from his friends. Despite this, he did behave really well and only wanted to wander around a little and didn’t misbehave once. During the time when Ellie was riding him, it was clear just how much he did try for her. Bertie did, occasionally, get a little overexcited whilst Ellie was riding him (especially when I set some poles up for them), but when he was paying his full attention to what Ellie was asking of him, he looked lovely.

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

Normally, on these posts, I don’t post the comments I get from the owners, since normally they generally just say ‘thank you’ and/or ‘I love them’ or some variation of the two (which I greatly appreciate I must add, since it reassures me that I’m doing something right for my clients) however, I really wanted to share this comment that Ellie made on the Facebook post as it really did make my day!

“Just want to say thank you to Beth for taking some lovely pictures of Bertie the other day and thank you for being so patient with him. Being a baby, he is a complete fidget but Beth didn’t put any pressure on him (or me) and kept everything really relaxed. I’m definitely going to book Beth to come and take some pictures of my dogs next :D” 

DSC_0101

Ellie and Bertie, Equine Photo Shoot by Beth Hicks Photography

I really enjoyed taking these photos and meeting Bertie. Thank you Ellie, for having me over to take the pictures and I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them.

~

~

As always, you can also follow me on my various social media channels or email me with any questions or enquiries you may have!

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BethHicksPhotography

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bethhick97

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/bethlhicks

Email: bethhicksphotography@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

