Newer TT660 II Flash

What’s in my Camera Bag?

From following other photographers and professionals on various social media channels, I always find it really interesting when they post a picture or do a blog post about what they take with them to work on a daily basis. It’s seeing these that has inspired me to do one myself. Whilst I haven’t got a huge amount of equipment, in fact, I recently sold three lenses that I never used just so I could buy a new lens, the equipment I do have suits its purpose for the moment. However there is always a few cameras and camera lenses that I have my eye on 😉

Everything that is in my camera bag

I always try to keep my kit pretty minimal. The main reason for this is due to the fact that I do quite a few shoots involving children, horses and dogs. Therefore, the less complicated the kit and the less lenses I have to change, the better as it makes the process run that much more smoothly!

The most important thing in my camera bag is my camera (unsurprisingly). At the moment, I have a Nikon D3200 with a zoom lens that has a focal length range of 18-105mm and an aperture of f/3.5-5.6. I personally love both of these and the camera was my first DSLR. As I do more photo shoots with it, I am starting to wish I had more elements that more advanced models have but at the moment it does what I need so I don’t see a need to upgrade it. Yet.

My Beloved Nikon D3200 with an 18-105mm zoom lens

 

I also always take spare batteries and SD cards with me. In total, I always have 4 extra batteries and 2 extra SD cards. That is probably a little excessive but I always like to be prepared and you just never know what may happen… To tell you the truth, whilst I do like to be prepared, I did order 3 of the batteries after I thought I had lost my only spare so I wanted to make sure I had more than enough spare. I then found the one I thought I’d lost an hour after ordering the new ones…

An excessive amount of spare batteries and SD cards...

 

The next things that I always carry with me are my camera camera cleaning cloth, my cleaning pen and blower and biro. The first three things are always just in case I need to clean my camera at all and the biro (or any other pen I can find) to allow contracts to be signed or to make notes about poses or areas that the client may want in his/her photographs. I also always make sure to carry my camera bags waterproof case with me, just in case it rains!

Camera cleaning kit is essential, as is a pen and my waterproof case

I don’t use it often but I quite often take my Newer TT660 II Flash. I never use this around animals but for family portraits, I may need that extra bit of light so I take it with me just in case to those.

Newer TT660 II Flash

And finally… I always carry a few business cards with me. After all, who knows who I may meet apart from the client when I get to the location of the photo shoot. It’s always beneficial to try and connect with people as who knows, they may offer a service I may need at some point and vice versa. If my client seems to have really enjoyed themselves, I may also give them a few cards to pass onto friends and then I’ll tell him/her about my refer a friend scheme.

I doubt this will have been a helpful post for you (but who knows, maybe it was), but I do hope it was interesting!

I’m now able to book more shoots in over the summer, particularly leading up to the end of August so if you want one before term time starts again, then please get in touch. You can do so by messaging me on Facebook, or emailing me on bethhicksphotography@gmail.com!

You may also be interested in taking part in a photography project of mine, in which case click here. Or one of my tutorials to help you with a professional photo shoot such as:

You may also want to see some previous work, in which case, please go to my Gallery.

Speak soon,

Beth 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

