Beth Hicks Photography, Photography Project Facebook Post

Summer Photography Project’s

I recently read a blog post about how sometimes it is important to be able to take photos for your own enjoyment, especially if you feel ‘stuck in a rut’ and are starting to feel like you have no creativity left. Whilst I may not be feeling like this, I have been recovering from a jaw operation and so haven’t been getting out and doing things like I normally would. Because of this jaw operation, I’m not going to be able to ride for at least another 4-6 weeks so whilst I will (and am) starting to be able to go down to the yard for short visits, it won’t take up as much time as it was before the jaw operation. So rather than feeling sad and annoyed about this, because believe me it would be really easy for me to start getting all upset over the fact that I can’t do the things that I used to be able to do for a while, I’ve decided to look at it as an opportunity. If you follow me on Facebook, you may have seen a post that looked something like this:

Beth Hicks Photography, Photography Project Facebook Post

This opportunity will take the form of trying to build up my photography a lot more before going away to university but also in the form of a photography project. I didn’t want to do a typical photography projects that are recommended or suggested on the internet, but rather, I decided to do two slightly different ones. The first is titled ‘What is Normal?’ and the second is ‘The Story of…’

For ‘What is Normal?’ I aim to try and portray the message that everyone is different and that is what’s ‘normal’ rather than being the same. Because let’s face it, how many people do you know that are exactly the same. I have two really close friends that are identical twins and despite looking the same, there are differences between them and they have completely different personalities.

With this message, I am also aiming to break the stigma that is attached to things such as mental illness, learning difficulties and other hidden or physical illnesses or difficulties. Speaking from personal experience (I have ADHD and Dyspraxia) just because you have one of these things, doesn’t mean you are crazy or dumb etc. it just means you are slightly different and that is a GOOD thing. Throughout my life, I’ve always taken the view that being different is a good thing and is something we should embrace so as not to create all of these different stereotypes that people have. We shouldn’t all have to strive to be the same because that is just not realistic!

My ‘Story Of…’ project is going to look very similar to Humans of New York in that I will take pictures of people and give them the opportunity to tell a story about themselves. I don’t even mind what the story is as long as there is one to tell. I’ve advertised these projects on my Facebook page and I’ve even had people with pets wanting to take part, for example, one person had two cats that were rescued!

For either of these I have no set idea of who I want to take part, anyone and everyone can. The only thing I stipulate is that you are in Cambridge/Cambridgeshire and if not, you can travel over to here. I have lots of ideas and intend to be as creative as possible with this so if you want to take part, please use the contact form below or email bethhicksphotography@gmail.com and I will get back to you ASAP with details of how I envisage this happening and what will happen. As a thank you for taking part, you will also get a high-resolution digital image of the image I choose to be a part of the project.

I will also be, finally, making my own personal photo album/scrapbook of my Bolivia trip so I will be posting updates of that on my social media channels as well!

 

If you don’t want to take part but would like to see how this project progresses, then make sure to follow this blog/website, and follow me on Facebook and Instagram where I shall be posting these images. Alternatively, you can view some of my work by clicking on the links below.

3 thoughts on “Summer Photography Project’s

  1. Pingback: What’s in my Camera Bag? | Beth Hicks Photography

Leave a Reply

